PUB IN SWALWELL - its seen better days

Woke up this morning feeling " all stuffed up " and with a bit of a sore throat.  Took some paracetamol and went back to sleep for a while.  Didn't feel any better the second time I woke up so I had a leisurely breakfast and stayed in my PJ's till lunchtime.

Decided not to waste the day so I got myself ready and walked down to the village to get the bus to Asda. Got off the bus in Swalwell and walked the rest of the way so I could add to my step count.

On my route to Asda I passed the Three T pub and noticed that the back part of it is in a derelict state so decided to blip it for the Derelict Sunday challenge.  The Three T  was originally called The Three Tuns and opened as a pub in 1896.  It was reported in 1896 that in the 19th century when wherry's (small boats used to bring cargoes up river) came up to Swalwell bringing iron ore for Crowley's iron works, there were 27 pubs in Swalwell, all doing a roaring trade.  The Three Tuns closed in 2000 and was empty for a few years until it was re-branded as  Three T.   It seems as though the part of the building in my shot has had nothing done to it for many years.

Thanks to evolybab for hosting the Derelict Sunday challenge.

Once I reached Asda I looked around the clothes section upstairs and got a pair of trousers.  Then downstairs to the food. Bought quite a lot  including some frozen " party food " to keep for New Years Eve.

Just having a quiet evening watching TV  Enjoyed The Apprentice.  Always like this episode where the candidates get a grilling re their business plans.  Its brutal.

Steps today - 7,775

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.