Beckfoot Ford

I decided to visit Bingley St Ives this morning as I'd never been despite living not too far away and while I was there I walked the short distance to the ford. This shot was take from Beckfoot Bridge (also known as the Packhorse Bridge which features in both my extras;)   historically it was a significant crossing point over Harden Beck in Bingley, West Yorks.  It was constructed alongside the historical ford across the beck in 1723, replacing a previous wooden bridge.  Two contractors were paid £10 to build the bridge and to maintain it and keep it in good order for seven years.  It is wide enough for pedestrians or single file horses and in 1974 it was given grade II listed building status.

Thank you for visiting my journal, your kind comments, hearts and stars; they are heartwarming and very encouraging.  I hope you all enjoy the weekend.  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.