Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Marley's Ghost

This evening I decided to try out my new 'studio' corner.  It was already almost completely dark so I racheted  up the degree of difficulty by using candlelight mixed with a daylight lamp and/or flash.  Oddly, the colour balance was spot on, but - typical of me - I preferred it in mono, so here you have it.

I used to own nearly all Dickens's writing in mouldering Penguins whose pages turned orange and flaked like dandruff.  I replaced them with a rather average set of hardbacks.  They are very much older but more comfortable to read and not bathed in acid.  Best still, they cost about a quarter of what replacement paperbacks would.

This one's open at 'A Christmas Carol'.  I like reading it at this time of year.  It helps to peel me away from all the 'Bah, humbug!'  The illustration, which is by John Leech, is of Marley's Ghost visiting Scrooge.  The candle between them has a funny little face drawn in the flame.  If I was really good with Photoshop my candle would be the same.

Hope you have a fun - or at least peaceful - weekend coming up.  This time next week we'll be in the thick of it!  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.