ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

The Highland Prince.

Must be seen large.

300 Blips today! I was up ridiculously early to take this shot of the sunrise over Aberdeen bay; my EXIF data tells me it was 5.43am. I think it was worth it though! I got up, packed my gear and walked down to the harbour for 5.20am, but as the light levels crept up I realised I was in the wrong place to get the best light, so I ran up to the highest point of Balnagask golf course and took the three photos I've stitched together for this panorama shot. I stayed a while as the sun rose over the clouds; it was absolutely breathtaking to watch all the dew on the grass turn pink in the sun, and the bay begin to light up.

The vessel in the picture is the Highland Prince; a UK-based, multi-purpose offshore vessel built in 2009. As I walked off the golf course, the ship caught up with me at the entrance to the harbour and we arrived at the quay together. I was home and back in my bed at 7am for an extra hour's sleep before work.

Blip has really changed the way I view photography - getting up at 4.45am to photograph a sunrise for my 3ooth entry was something I'd have never contemplated when I started, and I really think my photography has improved with the discipline of finding one photo a day. Thanks to all those who stop by with comments, stars and hearts - it just makes my day.

Off to work now to earn some pennies!

Edit...
I hit the Spotlight page for the first time EVER! Such a good feeling, a huge thank you to everyone who has commented, my new subscribers (I've gained 5 today), the five lovely hearts and all the stars. What a way to end my day. Thankyou!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.