Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

The Christmas Rush

Many thanks for the response to yesterday's early morning image.  It gives me a great deal of satisfaction when my images bring pleasure to people.  It was back to normality today.  Mum was top of my list of things to do, I'd neglected her for a day or so.  

On arrival she was having breakfast; everything she eats now is soft and thickened, even drinks.  This is to prevent the possibility of taking food down into the lungs.  I am hopeful that this might be a temporary state of affairs, but discussions with the manager at the home makes me wonder.  She was frank with her assessment of Mum, with very little chance of a substantive recovery from where she is now.  When I realise how she was on moving her less than a month ago, it is as though she has aged 5 years.  I used to think that being chair bound was bad enough for her, but even though she tried sitting in a chair earlier this week, she soon asked to be returned to bed.  This is something she would have fought against only a few weeks previously.  She is still with us, but now very frail indeed.

I just had a chance for some last minute Christmas shopping and took this shot in the hope of illustrating the frenetic activity in town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.