Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Cathedral Before Dawn

I was out early, needing to find two blips for today.  I was looking for something with a Christmas scene and remembered the decorations inside Lichfield Cathedral as a possible source for inspiration.  I thought that the cathedral opened at 7:30 am and as I was a little early I headed for the far end of Stowe Pool.  The toning of the sky must come from the street lights because my memory of the scene was of a resolute grey.  It reminds me in some ways of the interesting effects you used to get in film days from reciprocity failure (Schwarzschild Effect) when taking long exposure images.

Frustratingly, despite hearing the organist practising in the cathedral, it wasn't open when I turned up so I made alternative arrangements.

It was funny being in Lichfield.  It had been a regular location to visit when Mom was alive, but since her death at the beginning of the year I had only made a couple of visits.  I even visited the five trees in Stonnall above St Peter's Church, which I haven't photographed for many months.  By this time fog had descended to make the view easier to photograph (usually you have to bear in mind the electricity pylons in the background).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.