Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Neck and Neck

I could hear the clashing of antlers, but for the life of me I couldn't see anything!

Heavy fog this morning.  I was intent on making use of the conditions with a landscape image but the clash of the antlers made me think again.  I walked into the pasture, eyes straining in an effort to identify where the noise was coming from.  Imagine my surprise when they came into view, moving in unison.  I think they were as surprised as I was, but they kept going and soon disappeared into the distance and fog.

In the end they allowed me a few more opportunities to capture images.  I then headed on to the local pool, which was transformed by the conditions (see extra).  

I'm sure there was a time when I'd have posted the landscape image as my main entry, but these days I'm very much about experiences and seeing these young stags moving as they were was memorable.  Our red deer population are wary of humans, unlike in some areas and invariably will move away when approached.  I think I was lucky that I hadn't been noticed so I got the opportunity to have them pass by me to get this shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.