Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A shrot walk around Humshaugh

Today was sunny, fine and a bit chilly. After a bit more clearing up from yesterday's party, I went for a short walk "around the block". My legs know that they have not been walking for a few weeks and objected. The sky was blue with hardly a cloud and I had the route almost entirely to myself.

My blip is of a field about half a mile from home. It has yet to be ploughed and planted. I thought it produced a calm image. The field behind our house is growing winter wheat at a rate of knots. My extra is of rose bay willowherb seed heads by the side of a lane, backlit by the sun. They caught my eye.

BJ and Sheila came this afternoon for a cuppa and a chat. Sheila had a bad accident over a year ago and can now walk about 50 yards with a walker. This is a huge improvement but she has a long way to go. She and BJ had been on an adventure to Aballava Roman Fort on the west coast of Cumbria. Here there is a fourth century inscription discovered in Beaumount, two miles from the remains of the fort at Burgh by Sands. The inscription refers to the "numerus of Aurelian Moors" - a unit of North Africans, probably named after the emperor Marcus Aurelius. The first Africans in the UK.

They were very excited about all this. The church they visited was very interesting too.

We enjoyed mince pies and Christmas cake.

Our entertaining has stopped now and we can sit back and watch some TV for once.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.