Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Kew Gardens

I wrote out my entire journal and then it all disappeared! Too tired to do it all again now, so will finish off tomorrow.

To explain, we went to Kew Gardens!

28/12/16
Going to try to re-write yesterday's journal which I lost... probably just as well as it was a bit detailed!

So... thanks to our friend Eileen, we got tickets to see the Christmas Lights at Kew Gardens. We set out around mid-day, initially to have lunch at Moti Mahal. Managed to find the place (always a challenge) only to be completely put off by the one member of staff they had on duty. I've never experienced such awful customer service in the UK. The person just didn't care, so no lunching there; we headed to a nearby hotel for Afternoon Tea that we'd seen advertised!

I thought we had plenty of time to get to Kew Gardens (read - jump on a bus to see the lights again), but G suggested we head to our destination; after all, it was going to take nearly two hours to get there from The Strand! [Public transport - ugh!]

We arrived well in time (not that I have ANY idea what the time is these days). It was super to walk around and see the displays. The difference between these lights and Dubai's Garden Glow is that over here - they accentuate it with music. Great pieces chosen. Eileen had told us to wrap up. So glad for that bit of advice!

We had a quick bite to eat from one of the stalls there and decided it was time to head back. Another one hour journey on two buses back to the car in the cold - no thanks. I ordered an Uber! We were home by 10pm.

I think today has been the coldest since I've been here. Poor G had to get the ice off the windscreen. I enjoyed trying to get pictures of the frost... something we will probably never see in Dubai! ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.