Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Reunited

I really wanted to post a picture of my car which I have finally got back from the garage... a month after it went in there to get ready for its MOT. I've had the usual problems securing reliable spare parts in fact, it's come home to me minus the brake booster! It goes well enough though and we had it properly washed at the car wash to have every bit of it cleaned - inside and out.

We then drove to the Registration place and it passed the technical test with flying colours! Just as expected really. The new person (Zulkifal) looking after my car is doing a grand job and I should commend him for his very professional approach. I think the Volvo may be just a few years younger than him!.

And then we finally got to have lunch at Uno Chicago Grill in Dubai Mall. It was 3:15pm by this time and I had already arranged a blipmeet for 4; so had move that back. The restaurant was packed (!!) so we were taken to the "outside" for a table... which happened to be in this section called The Village - and voila! More umbrellas! They must be all the rage except these ones are the right way up, and yesterday's at Miracle Garden were upside down.

And then... we had a blipmeet! With Blipbaby and her mum who are currently in Dubai! We met at Galeries Lafayette and two hours vanished as we chatted effortlessly about all kinds of things! Well, mainly Dubai! I had no idea Blipbaby and her mum read my journal often and have taken me up on some recommendations on places to visit. Cool stuff and we've already arranged to meet up again soon. :D  They were so generous to give us a gift of mince pies!

And before finally getting home to do all the stuff that needs doing putting the house back after a visitor has gone, we called in at friends Suguna and Miriam to collect a portion of biryani they had for us. Ended up staying and chatting for a bit.

It's been a really great day. Hope yours has too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.