Pandemic!

We are really getting in to the new game Manda and family bought us for Christmas. It was challenging to begin with (we started at 8pm) but now its becoming quite exciting as epidemics, and outbreaks of disease keep popping up all over the world, and we battle, as a team, to stop them.

So between turns, I'm trying to blip, and teach Mollie to knit. Multi multi tasking.

So it is the very last day of 2016. It has been full, and there have definitely been lots of good bits. What we had hoped for hasn't happened yet, and it perhaps has clouded our view of the year. The stress of working away/part time salary/lots of driving/fruitless job applications really can't be underestimated, but unless you are in that situation, for approaching 2 years, you really can't know how it feels. So, that takes its toll. But we still have lots of supportive and kind friends. And each other.

But what about the positives? I had a lovely 50th birthday with all my family and a surprise day out. I can hardly believe that was a year ago! We had a lovely holiday in France. All 5 of us. I looked back at the photos today, and it really was a brill 2 weeks. I had a memorable weekend in Edinburgh in the Spring with 2 of my best friends;another birthday celebration, and in August celebrated yet again, with an amazing day on the beach at Wells, with loads of friends. We were blessed with good weather. At the end of the summer term, Mollie did an amazing job, and under challenging conditions, passed her A levels with great grades. She moved back home after her 9 months living with Karen and Neil, and settled into a job on the pier where she has made some lovely friends, and as usual is popular with all who meet her.

In August I moved jobs, from one team in the Norfolk Pension fund, who I had enjoyed working with immensely, to another team in the same department, to do different work. A new team who made me as welcome as the first, and who have reignited my love for pensions and learning - and in general given me my confidence back. I now know that at 50, I am not too old to learn or relearn.

Jon started an Explorer scout unit in Cromer, to cater for the boys and girls as they leave sea scouts. The bushcraft hasn't really got off the ground, but again its hard when you aren't in an area to make contacts. He will keep trying.

Daniel has been working in a Health and Safety placement since September and continues to grow in his independence. He has also passed his full motorcycle licence...but continues to cycle to work, I am relieved to say. But motorcycling is in the blood...so I can't stop him!

I am a busy person. I fill each day because i hate the thought that sitting about might be wasting precious time that could be used to do other things. I probably do need to slow down sometimes. December has been good, because I gave myself my evenings back. My writing finished (sort of) but I am itching to get back to it in the new year. So the New Year. I hope some good comes of it. There are hopes that Mollie will get a place at Uni, that Jon will find a job in our area, that Dan will settle into his final year at Uni too and that Henry takes on the challenges that face him with the first year of his GCSES. I will keep looking for ways to make a bit more money, perhaps finish my book properly, find things to sell, do a bit more family history, collect a few more coins, well...collect anything really, get the garden looking pretty, meet up with friends more often.....buy more 9p bargains in Morrisons, write more poems...

The list is endless. Which is why I am always so busy.

What ever you plan for 2017, I wish you a healthy, happy and content one.

Ps. The game...it beat us this time, but we are going to have another go tomorrow. And as it will be my birthday, I won't be doing a thing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.