Last Day of the Year

Backblip
It was twenty years ago tonight that my lovely brother Mr D had a life changing stroke. Twenty years. Bloody hell.

Lately it's been well nigh impossible to get a brush through the Little Misses' hair. Even with tons of conditioner it's like brillo pads! I was chatting to Nanny last week about it and mentioned that they were probably overdue a haircut. They haven't had their haircut since.......
Looking back through Blip (one of the many things I love about Blip is the opportunity it offers to check when things happened!) I was confused not to be able to find a record of the haircut I could have sworn they had before going back to school at half term. 
Must have been before they went back in September. Nope. 
Oh my God, it was August 2nd!!!!!
No wonder they look like feral wolf children!!
I booked them in for haircuts first thing this morning into the fab kids hairdressers in Milton Keynes that we go to. As usual they spent a very happy fifteen minutes watching cartoons and playing Xbox. They're always gutted when it's time to go!
From there we went to the cinema to watch The B.F.G. Miss E and Mr K hadn't seen it at all and Miss L and I were more than happy to see it for a second time. It's such a lovely film! And a bargain at only £2.50 a ticket!!
We took a tasty picnic of peanuts, chocolate brioche, popcorn, satsumas and muesli bars. To keep us going till we could get home for lunch!!
The rest of the day was spent cracking on with my Christmas jigsaw (nearly finished, woohoo!!!!), catching up on Blips (and so nearly getting up to date!!!) watching Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, eating prawns - the Little MIsses' last dinner of 2016 was a bowl of prawns with lemon juice followed by chocolate mousse. It's going to be difficult getting back to cooking actual proper meals!!! and baking chocolate chip cookies.
We packed them off to their sleepover at about 7.30pm - remembering just in the nick of time to shout Happy New Year up the stairs after them!!!
Then Mr K and I drank mulled wine, wrote more Blips, played rubbish computer games, chatted to our lovely friends on Facebook (perhaps an actual get together next New Year's Eve Mrs Z?!!!)  and watched the hilarious Planes, Trains and Automobiles followed by fireworks and Robbie Williams because we couldn't summon the energy to get upstairs!!
I eventually dragged myself up at about 1.30am. 2017 is going to start off in a sleepy fashion!!

2016 has been a funny old year. Fantastic for us personally - a new school for Miss E and a definite change in her for the better; a long awaited new house which I love, love, love and feel happy in; a new addition to the family in the lovely Archie.
Terrible when my dad got diagnosed with both prostrate and bladder cancer but wonderful that he's beaten both. 
My very dear friend Miss T became a mum. To Miss C, my beautiful God daughter. A difficult pregnancy and birth and a shocking first few months. I wish I was there to help as much as she helped me in the early days. I can't wait to see her later in the year and meet Miss C. I'm so proud of you T xx
So many sad deaths  and don't even get me started on Brexit or Donald Trump!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.