Monkey Girl

Having spent hours the other day tidying Miss L's room I'm pleased to report that it's still pretty tidy. Apart from all the random soft toys tied up in toilet roll and hanging underneath her bed!!
Despite a very late night the Little Misses and Miss M were up and about pretty early. But they were happy pottering about (i.e. playing on their iPads!!) so I stayed in bed for a nice long lie in. 
I made bacon and eggs for us all at lunchtime and then there was more pottering/tidying until the Little Misses and Miss M announced that they would like to go swimming before we took Miss M home.
I didn't really feel like it but I hate to turn down any request that sees them exercising rather than staring at screens. So off we went!
It was mostly fun. Unfortunately Miss E forgot to pack goggles for Miss M and despite my efforts - finding no fewer than THREE pairs of goggles in lost property and random lockers - none of them were quite right for Miss E!
Also, she finds it very challenging that Miss M likes Miss L and wants her to play with them. She says that Miss L is "stealing Miss M off her" and is genuinely distraught. Sigh.
I tried to explain you can't steal people, Miss M is just being polite and friendly and nice and normal!!, that Miss E is upsetting Miss L, that it's not fair to leave Miss L out, that you can't steal people, that she's cutting off her nose to spite her face......... Sigh!
She makes things so hard for herself sometimes it breaks my heart!
It was 6pm by the time we left the pool so I said we had to take Miss M straight home.
That went down like a lead balloon with a now hideously overtired and irrational Miss E.
I asked Mr K to take them as I was sick of arguing with Miss E. Miss M probably thinks I'm the meanest Mummy in the world!!!
Mr K finished Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince at bedtime. One more to go and then they'll have to find something else to read!
Mr K and I ate pork pie, coleslaw, baguettes, stilton, paté and potato salad and watched The Crown. At about 11pm I was flagging and tempted to go to bed without seeing in the New Year. 
I was persuaded to watch another episode of The Crown and we toasted in the New Year with a Baileys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.