Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Farleigh House

We stayed the night at my uncle and aunts house in Rode, Somerset, sleeping on a lilo (which I haven't done for years!) in the study as my parents had the bed in the spare room!

After a late breakfast we stayed chatting to them as my parents headed home. I was hoping to do an aerial photo of the village but it was raining and foggy. My aunty advised us to have a look at Farleigh Castle, near Rode, on the way home. Opposite is Fairleigh House, far more imposing. It was built in 1702 by the Houlton family who used stone from the castle. They owned the castle until 1899.

In 1970  to 1996 it was Ravenscroft Prep school,  a college until 2001, and then an optical manufacturing company had it. In 2010, Bath Rugy Club acquired it on a 99 year lease as their HQ and training facility.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.