Five Degrees of Fun

I have to admit I was slightly trepidatious this morning. It was a cold, murky start and by the time I'd hopped around the bedroom squeezing into my wetsuit it had started to drizzle too. 

I drove down to the Quays and registered. I didn't think anyone was free to join me and cheer me on, but I should never have doubted my lovely friends. Tracey appeared with Dave and Max and then Sian arrived.

There was a briefing and last minute tips for entering water that only just tipped five degrees, then it was time to zip up the suit and stick my daft hat on my head. Oh Lordy, the concrete froze my feet, I was shaking with cold and wondering what the hell I was doing there....then 5...4...3...2...1...SWIM!

I didn't have trouble with the breathing, but my hands and feet, well they were unbelievably painful and numb  and cold all at the same time. It was about 250m....it felt like much more....but it was exhilarating, it was energising, it was a massive adrenalin rush, it was crazy and mad and stupid....but it was the bestest way to start the New Year!

I have felt chilly all day, but I don't care. I could write a list...probably the same one as most years...about the things I want to do or achieve, but instead I shall say.......

Have a great 2017, let it be what you want it to be. Enjoy the little things, aim towards the big things. Take many photos and share your moments with us all. We are all one brilliant blip family.....Happy New Year Everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.