Mono Monday: New Year's Resolution

I don’t think I have made a resolution in years, but this year is different.  Henceforth, I have resolved to attend two yoga classes per week. 

I have always hated formal exercise, but finally embraced it as a necessary evil while in my 40’s when I joined a group that did early morning “military basic training” type exercise 5 days a week.  I soon was able to run 10k’s and was quite fit.  The running eventually took a toll on my knees, resulting in torn cartilage and arthroscopic surgery for both.  

I had a friend who swore by yoga, but I resisted her suggestion that I try it because I was intimidated and way down deep, I still hated exercise.  But when a local studio offered an 8-week beginner’s course, I signed up.  After the first class, I experienced something that I had never experienced before, an intense euphoria; what I imagine taking drugs must feel like.  I couldn’t wait to go back for more. Ultimately I took the course a second time for a total of 16 weeks, after which I knew I could go into any yoga class and hold my own.  

I have since done yoga for many years, only once a week, but the benefits have been significant in terms of flexibility, strength, balance and a general feeling of well-being. I always knew twice a week would be that much better, but when I retired two and 1/2  years ago, I tossed aside any effort to be scheduled and have devoted most of my time to that which gives me the greatest pleasure, my photography.  I have continued to exercise, but only when the spirit moves me or I feel guilty, and somehow yoga had been left by the wayside.  This year, when summer moved into fall and I chalked up another birthday,  I started to feel more aches and pains than usual and less flexibility.  My little mishap on the waterfalls during the landscape photography workshop in October probably didn’t help, so I began attending a yoga class once a week and immediately I have felt the benefit.  Today I picked up my second class and I feel all the better for it.  

These two bronze figurines were gifts from my husband years ago, and will now continue to remind me two is better than one. I want to be able to continue to trek all over the state, through woodlands and meadows with my camera and lenses for many years to come. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.