Cigs

By Cigs

Duddingston Road

Previously on Cigs: A bunch of tags appear on the old high school at Portobello. In the latest episode Cigs the blipper tries to follow in Cigs the tagger footsteps

So after yesterday's casual saunter past, I had a good idea of how to get into the demolition site at the old skool - sorry - school. Although its surrounded by an 8ft high wooden fence, there's always going to be a chink in the armour. (Two or three in this case)

So, after a day of being polite to the de facto outlaws in Lanarkshire and a light supper of smoked salmon, I went off into the night to put the plan into practice. 

The good people of EH15 were safely inside watching Miss Marple so skipping over the fence was straightforward. There was an interior fence too but - the gate for workmen to access the site wasn't locked so presented no problems. 

It looked to me like there was no one on site, but you're never too sure, There was a portakabin with a light on and generators going, so it's hard to tell. But a fairly safe passage through the back of the school - the pathway is fairly well defined. It was a braw bricht moonlicht nicht so that helped immeasurably in the navigation. I got to the main building; and the first doors I tried were locked. I continued around, looking for ways in, but everywhere I tried was chained up. I had a bit of rummage around; loads of decent shadows and other photo opportunities but not a sign of any Cigs lower down. 

Damn.

Unsure what to do, no real clue of where else might offer a way in I sort of hung about but kept looking. And without really thinking I tried a fire exit and managed to get my finger nails onto the door frame, and it popped open. 

Ooooh! This led me into the low bit alongside the main block. Ceilings are all removed, the wiring has been stripped out, classrooms an interesting mix of chaos and order. Still looking like classrooms but like classrooms in an earthquake zone or a zombie movie. 

I quickly located the main staircase and in no time was up on 8; the shot I had hoped for was there! The large Cigs / Loud combi on the glass, facing out to sea with the bright lights of Porty out below.

Blip was done in no time. 

And then it was time to try and pick my way back out in the semi gloom. Back through the semi derelict, dusty, quiet old building. 

On hindsight it would have been easier to go and buy a zommier zoom lens and take the shot from down the street, But not nearly as much fun. 

As I sit here and type this up, I can already sense that I may well have to go back and have a proper look....! (There is one more Cigs - I can do it from the street but wouldn't it be so much more fun to do from the inside again...? 

Black paint on glass; undated but we all know it's 2016

For the purposes of monomonday - My New Year resolution will be to carry on the quest for any new Cigs that appear...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.