Hold On To That Which Is Good

The first day of 2017 dawned as a very dreich day, damp and dark.  I went out for a walk while the others were getting ready to go to church.  It was a miserable morning, though not cold. Even at 9am, there was very little light.  The river was very full, after the rain of the night.  I stopped at the bridge over the Swale at Easby and watched the birds for a while, while the water was thundering beneath me.

It was nice to get home and to enjoy some hot toast and marmalade. By late morning the day had transformed itself and the sky was brilliant blue.  We took BB out for some exercise and fresh air.  The lure of catching a few Pokemon was too good not to miss.  His trail took us into the churchyard of the Parish Church, where we had a look around, before going into the church itself. We then headed home for a magnificent Sunday/New Year’s Day lunch.  We were all so full, we didn’t move far in the afternoon, but eventually we had to pack up and head back up the A1.  Once home I had to go out to get a few more steps so I could meet my weekly challenge.  It was then home to get my pjs on, get a glass of fizz and TT and I settled down in front of the fire to watch Skyfall.

This is a section of a wonderful stained glass window in the Parish Church.  The window commemorates the life of a young parishioner, who I subsequently found out had been a school friend of one of TT’s nieces.  This quote is appropriate for the start of a new year. The extra is a nut hatch spotted on my morning walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.