New Year's Day Walk

Even though we were not up late last night, we all stayed late in bed this morning.  I eventually got up and made myself go for a run.  It was a lovely morning, though I didn’t meet as many people as on my walk yesterday morning.  There had been a lot of rain overnight and I knew it meant my run would be very muddy.  Once I had got rid of the mud and had breakfasted, TT, BB and I went for a walk by the river.  It was frozen in places, and very muddy in places – lots of opportunities for slips and slides.  We had to retrace our steps at one point and take the high road by the river, as the river was over the riverside path.

We were glad of Grandma’s delicious lunch when we got home

We decided to head home mid-afternoon and had a clear run home.  There was a huge amount of traffic heading south.  We did wonder if that was because Edinburgh was emptying after the New Year celebrations!

We were home in time to watch  Grandpa’s Great Escape and then later TT and I enjoyed James Bond in Sceptre.

Here are the boys walking by the river, before we had to retrace our steps and take the high path.  The extras show a snowdrop - almost in bloom in the garden of one of Grandma’s neighbours, and BB wading in the shallows while the river thunders past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.