"An Eye

that makes the whole world bright." (From today's poem The Confirmation by Edwin Muir.)

Only ordinary tweety birds plus a dark pheasant at Longlands Hide. I did see a busy fat rat and a muntjac deer trotted through.

As I walked over the wobbly bridge towards the Bittern Hide this lone white goose half jumped, half flew up towards me. Probably looking for food but the way it kept catching my eye made it seem as though it remembered when we used to see each other a lot a few years ago. 

I had the hide to myself for a while and then a couple with two children shouting their heads off entered. I put my finger to my lips and quietly said hello. The children ran riot, screaming and banging. The parents made no attempt to quieten them. I asked the children if they knew why one should be quiet in a hide and explained the reasons to them. That made no difference whatever. I despair of some parents. I left. That was fortuitous as I got a shot of Goosey in flight and a kingfisher as I walked back over the bridge.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.