Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Who's the pretty boy, then?

This has definitely been the "winter of cardinal" in our garden.  It seems like every time I look outside there are at least two and frequently 3 or 4 bright males and as many females.  At this time of year, the males call a truce which means that they tolerate each other.  But in a few months, the spring turf wars will begin with streaks of red darting through the yard as the males vie for territory.  I got this shot by standing very quiet and still on our deck until one of the males approached close enough for me to get a decent shot.  I used PS to get rid of a distracting branch right over his head and lightened the image just a smidge in LR.   Otherwise, he's just as nature made him - red and gorgeous.

This is my third yard bird photographed this year.  I also added #21 to my year yard list this morning when a flock of Canada Geese flew over the house.  Off to a good start.

Two more pics on Flickr, starting HERE with a chickadee wearing a meal worm smile, followed by a rascally squirrel.

Lunch today with a friend; then Hubs and I were off to meet with the Admissions Director at a local retirement home.  We are getting closer to making decisions on next steps for my mother-in-law. Nothing about this is easy, but we are making progress,  and I look forward to having her nearby rather than 900 miles away.  

Hoping to get out for a while tomorrow, even though the high is only going to be 30 F (brrrr).   

TTFN, people

xo
Debbi

PS:  For the first time ever, I observed two American Crows engaged in mutual preening (called allopreening) today!  This is done by pairs to strengthen their bonds, usually ahead of the breeding season, and involves one bird gently preening the feathers on the head and neck (and sometimes all over) the other bird.  It is a very tender thing to watch as they use those huge strong beaks in such a gentle way.  Anyway, it was a very, very cool behavior to observe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.