The Early Bird...

Catches the worm!  

Well I certainly did this morning - I did an extra shift at work on reception, so had to open up the surgery before 8am.  I left home at 7,15am and made sure I had my camera with me as it looked like it was going to be a nice morning again.  Fortunately the traffic wasn't too heavy and I was almost in Hove by 7.35am, and as I was driving towards the West Pier, something caught my eye out to sea.  I had to look twice to see what it was as there was a very dark shape moving just above the water, and it was actually a mumuration of starlings.  I've only ever seen them at dusk before, and never so close to the water.

I parked up near the bandstand and saw another photographer stood on the bandstand, so we had a chat and I asked him if he'd seen the murmuration.  He had, and like me, he said he'd never seen them like that.  Unfortunately I couldn't stay long, but just as I was about to leave, I spotted the biggest group of starlings I've ever seen, flying from the West Pier towards us.  I quickly took some shots as they flew over us, it was an amazing sight!

It was very busy at work so the time flew, and when I got home at 2.30pm I took mum and the boys down to the beach and met up with Chrissy and Barbs.  We walked to Ovingdean, had a hot chocolate at the cafe whilst watching the sun go down, and then headed home.  We were all quite cold by the end of the walk, but it's been lovely, and mum has enjoyed it.

Apologies for my lack of comments, I'm being a bad blipper and am really behind!  I'm off work now until Monday so I'll try and catch up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.