Folk art...

...this is quite simple to do. I used acrylics on black card. Mostly each stroke is one stroke of the brush loaded with 2 or 3 colours. And no fiddling to 'correct' anything.

I used to do painting on black velvet about 35 years ago. It was a Victorian pastime. I read it in some Victorian/Edwardian Girl's Paper. And I tried it. You use black cotton velvet. I can't remember what paints they used, but I used acrylics. It is done dry bush and no water. Again it is dipping your brush in two colours, maybe three...very little paint on your brush and gently stroking the paint on the velvet. It is a little bit like doing the above painting in that no water and just adding one or several colours to the brush before doing the stroke.

Rather than clean my brushes in water before I use another colour, because to do that makes your brush wet when you start again and for me that spoils it, I have a dozen brushes or so and just clean them when I finish.

Obviously this depends on the consistency of your paint. Some acrylics are very liquidy, but others are very thick.

Doing this Victorian painting on velvet helped me when I tried folk art and canal boat art. I love the castles on the canal boats.

I don't have any velvet paintings left, but some weeks ago I bought some black cotton velvet...so maybe I will have another go soon!

In the pic above, I used a gold pen to do the circular detail round the flowers.

Today's offerings for a pic a day in 2017.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.