A Pleasant Surprise

Dear Diary,

Mr Cardinal hung out for quite some time in Auntie's tree and then around the porch.  I don't see Cardinals as much as I would like so any visit is a real treat for me.  What wasn't a treat was the pile of feathers under the tree.  I suspect one of my doves was captured by an owl or eagle or some other predator.  For one to live, one must die I guess but I am glad I didn't witness it first-hand.

I received my DNA results this morning and there were no real surprises there either just a confirmation of something Auntie always said, that her father, my grandfather, had Jewish ancestry.  What was more surprising was the 20% Irish ancestry.  I found only one ancestor from Ireland so perhaps there is more to the story than I was able to ferret out.

DNA is a mysterious thing to me.  Siblings can inherit different proportions from the same parents.  This was my last step in the family chronicle process.  Time to let my ancestors rest in peace!

Every book is a quotation; and every house is a quotation out of all forests, and mines, and stone quarries; and every man is a quotation from all his ancestors. - Ralph Waldo Emerson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.