Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Kids camp: day 8

I've always loved small boats and being on the water; from fishing with my Dad in rowboats, canoes at camp, sailboats, small and bigger, and for the last almost 20 years, rowing shells, and the wooden dory at the island. I guess I want everyone to love them too. Today was a gorgeous summer morning inviting us out boating. The kids all paddled a kayak and I tried to get a few photos from the dory. They all did very well. Niklas mostly likes to look for wakes to jump. Tatum would rather not be in a small boat, but is very capable and is humoring us by going. We all went to have a look at the seals, but I have to blip Oskar- he was really moving along and throwing water. (You can barely make out a few seals on the rocks behind...I'll try for them next week...) After this he found himself in shallow water and got spooked for some reason, so that was the end of kayaking. But he did it! yea! A rowing coach I know in Seattle insists that his rowers row a dory and says any 9 year old can do it instinctively. Our 9 year old (Niklas) says no way is he interested in that! We've done our best to introduce them to what we love. We'll have to wait and see what happens.... now, the motorboats are a different story....:-)

Son #1 (Tatum's Dad) arrived this afternoon and will drive them all home tomorrow. It was even noisier than usual as there was a new person to listen to all the (very loud) competing stories and view the endless videos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.