A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Friday 13th

At 6.00am I looked out of the bedroom window to see swirling snow falling on top of the ice that had formed last night. Not
what I wanted to see with a planned journey to the South West ahead of me (Bristol - a good four hours away by train)

The snow was short lived and all the trains were running to time but I thought this sign on the side of the train that pulled into Bingley station was appropriate for Friday the 13th and a journey in icy conditions.

Grace picked me up from Temple Meads and we were soon enjoying a gin cocktail in Brown's (our tradition when I come down on my own). No afternoon tea this time though as we were meeting John in Wahaca for Tacos and more cocktails - Margaritas this time! The waitress recognised our accents being a Yorkshire girl herself and brought us free churros with our bill!

A short walk up White Ladies Road (Grace and John's old stomping ground) took us to the Everyman cinema. Extra. Once the White Ladies Picture House it has been restored after many years of neglect and is now a super place with sofa seating and drinks and food brought to your seats (like Ilkley cinema but bigger, for those in the know). We saw 'La La Land' which I wasn't sure about with all the hype, but thoroughly enjoyed it along with accompanying Espresso Martinis!
Good to see the place full too as there was apparently some opposition to the restoration.

Not a bad Friday the 13th after all! Hope you all had a good one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.