1981 - 2017

I've been on missionary work in Maidstone for 40 years and over that time there have been considerable changes in the town and around. The top photograph was taken in 1981 as part of a set to take to Canada when I went on a year's teaching exchange to Ontario. This was so I could show people what my home area of Maidstone and Kent looked like.

As we missed the usual Saturday walk into Maidstone we went today. The weather was not very clement for blipping so I was casting around for an idea when I remembered the shots from long ago and went to have a look at the scene today to compare it with 1981. And what a change. Really, only the river is recognisable and it appears to be the same colour in both shots. There is a patch of green in both shots, which can only just be seen in today's shot.

Looking back through the slides of 1981 there are areas of the town which haven't changed at all. I might get around to posting these comparisons as well as others from my early days in the town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.