At the Doctors

Miss E went to bed feeling sick and sorry for herself last night. She said her tummy hurt and she felt terrible.
This morning she was torn - she wanted to go to school (because she wanted to see her friends and it's fish and chips!!) but she felt sick and her tummy hurt. 
I was tempted to let her go in and await the phone call but I got her to lie down so I could feel her tummy and she winced in genuine pain as I pressed down. 
So it was to school with Miss L and the doctors with Miss E.
The doctor pressed down on her abdomen too and despite Miss E crying out in pain pronounced there was no hardness or guarding. She did a quick urine test to rule out infection, took her temperature and bizarrely - but I'm sure with good reason - made her hop up and down on each leg in turn!!
The doctor said she didn't really know what was wrong - rest, fluids, maybe Calpol and we always had 111 over the weekend if necessary.
I wasn't exactly reassured - are we likely to need 111 over the weekend?!!!!!
Hopefully it's just a random thing and she'll be OK. Fingers crossed!
We popped into see my mum and dad afterwards - we'd left Archie with them thinking he'd prefer to see Elsie, Maisie and River rather than being left at home on his own.
My mum and I drank tea and chatted while Papa and Miss E disappeared off upstairs to do whatever it is they do up there with the trains!
When we got home we cuddled up on the sofa with Archie and endless episodes of Voltron. 
Stinky Archie had to have a bath tonight so while Mr K took care of that I read Harry Potter to the Little Misses. It was ace!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.