Misty Morning

Bury St Edmunds has a large factory for processing sugarbeet - a big agricultural crop in the area around. there used to be several smaller factories in the region and one is responsible for my existence as my grandfather moved to Ely from Scotland for work in the factory when my mother was eight - she grew up, met and married my father and then I came along! When I was young and growing up in a village only a few miles from the Ely factory, I can remember the smell  - I have no idea why, but I thought it was someone baking gingerbread!!

The Bury factory, here belching out steam, must process tons of the beet; any Silver Spoon sugar it is likely to have been processed here. The weather was frosty and a bit misty as I stopped but, as always, a bit earlier would have been better!

We had to trust that what had been set in motion yesterday for my mother's care, would actually happen. And it did!!  So tonight she is safely settled into a lovely care home in a comfortable room with views out to the garden. This is for a two-week 'enabling' period but we are hoping we can keep her there. Maybe the Bard is right and 'All's well that ends well!'

Tomorrow is another day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.