The Waterside Reflected

The boys headed off to BB’s new football training.  I think TT is enjoying not having coaching responsibilities anymore, as by all accounts he was off wandering, shopping, drinking coffee and enjoying bacon rolls.  I went for a walk in the beautiful frosty sunshine.

After a lunch, which was almost another bacon roll, we went for a river walk, briefly detouring to explore a path we have never explored before, and came back via the supermarket where we picked up some provisions for tea.

We almost had an emergency when TT discovered we had run out of tonic, but luckily he found a random bottle.  This always reminds me of being in India many years ago, and the hotel we were staying in had a “tonic shortage”!  Four of us each had a hefty measure of gin in our glasses and we were allowed one small bottle of tonic between us.  We then ordered another round of the same, but I have no recollection of what happened next!

Here is a female goosander on the river this afternoon.  The extra shows some aconites I spotted on my morning walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.