Smile Café - Soon a historical picture ...

After the long night I did not get up until 1 pm and was very slow ....
Shame, as it was the first sunny day since ages ....
We still made it out for a short walk in the fading daylight and visited the Smile Café for some needed caffeine injection.
When I first moved to Glasgow I lived on top of the café. 
Santino and Roco had just opened the Café and it became my second living room. Since they have the new place in the City Centre they have not been here that much anymore.
The Café was run by the girls working there. One of them, Sara, now lives in my old flat together with my friend Doris.
Having our coffee I noticed the changed menu. It was called Café del Sara!
WOW - and indeed, Sara has bought the shop a few weeks ago!
I knew that Santino were considering to sell this place but never took it serious. I am happy that Sara bought it and congratulated her. She is excited and has plans. She told me that people were looking at the shop and one potential buyer said to her: "Hey - you look good in here, I will keep you!" 
This duly annoyed her and she spoke to her family and bought the shop herself!!
So soon there will be a new sign up, stating her ownership! I am happy for Sara, but will miss Santino and Roco. I really have to go and see them in the City Centre. But they do not open on weekends and for an afternoon stroll during work it is a bit too far.

After our coffee and the catch up with Sara, we got ready for the evening. I got tickets for Celtic Connections: A night for Angus. With Shooglenifty and friends celebrating the legacy of (young) Angus Grant who sadly died last year.
It was a fantastic concert with great line up and they were playing 4 hours!!
I managed to say hello to a few people from my former life before we walked home in the cold.

Photo: Smile Café ..... soon Sara's

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.