Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Serendipitous

I'd just gotten off the phone with Hubs (who's several hundred miles into his trip back to Alabama) and had I told him that I was very likely going to have to resort to a cat blip today.  But before trying to coerce Charlie into a photo, I went out to refill the bird feeders, camera slung off my shoulder as always.  

And ... serendipity!  The fox came out of the woods and trotted in my direction.  In this shot, he'd seen me and was evidently trying to suss out whether I was a threat.  After some eye-to-eye contact, he trotted around the other side of the cherry tree towards the front of the house.  Then, back through the trees and underbrush between us and the next property.  I frequently see him travel this exact path so I am thinking (hoping) that he has his den nearby.  If that is the case, I may very well be lucky enough to photograph baby fox this spring.  Fingers crossed.

The day started out sunny and very nice and it was my plan to hit one of the nearby trails after a noon appointment.  However, when I left my meeting, the winds had kicked up to a miserable level, knocking down branches and blowing stuff all over the place.  Which put the brakes on a walk.  Not an entirely bad thing as I should really do a little house work.  

My three besties are coming out on Saturday to help me celebrate my birthday.  Can't wait.  It's been awhile since we 4 have been together.  I must remember to set up the tripod and remote to get some pics of us this time...  Before too much wine has been consumed!

Cheers.
xo
Debbi

PS:  Just for something different, I'm posted a mono shot of the fox on Flickr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.