New Face

Today I had reason to wander through town to a meeting. I seldom come down this one-way street because it's reduced to 1-lane while ongoing quake repairs happen.

Walking the opposite direction to the traffic was interesting. Sometimes I was restricted to the side of the road with buildings, and at other times I was on the side with the river.

The city is changing. I walked past the soon to be completed earthquake memorial. I'll hold my judgement but what I could see on the other side of the river looks like it could be anywhere in the world.

There are many new buildings appearing. Most have lots of glass and mirrors. I didn't mind that today. There were some quirky angles and with sun, fluffy white clouds and trees with coats of green leaves, I liked it.

Look closely and most have steel bracing and chunky concrete columns, things we didn't see before the earthquakes. My favourite today is the wavy building pictured here. My appointment wasn't in that building so I can't tell you if the offices are wavy too ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.