Milky Way Above the A82

A busy day today starting with a 6.45 am departure to witness sunrise over Rannoch Moor. A boggy venue. I stood way up on the overlooking bank as I think I might have endangered other people's lives and limbs by trying to get to loch side.

The colour changes in the sky as the sun rose were magnificent. Shades of pink, purple and magenta.

We were in time for breakfast back at the hotel, fortunately, after which we headed for Glenfinnan, on the road to Mallaig out of Fort William. Paul, who was driving me, estimated that we covered 200 km today.

Glenfinnan is where Bonny Prince Charlie (Charles Edward Stuart), landed in 1745 and gathered together the Highland clansmen to attempt to take back the British throne for the Stuarts. His army got as far as Derby when units of the British army were called back from action in the War of the Austrian Succession. His bid ended in the dreadful Battle of Culloden after which he fled with a price on his head. 

A tall column topped by the figure of a Highlander stands at the head of Loch Shiel.

I noted that the shore there was comprised of white quartz sand. The ground was notably dryer and much less boggy than other places we'd visited.

The sun was still at a reasonable height when we arrived but sank quickly. Beautiful recession in the hills far out in the loch.

No sooner back at base, than we were out again to take Milky Way shots as the sky was clear. It was also windy up on the moor and very few of my attempts are in adequate focus. I also increased exposure time which meant that star trails began to appear.  When I get to do this again, I shall choose a wider aperture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.