Heron

I was on the early bus this morning to pick up on the urgent request.  I had a limited amount of time in which to deal with it, as I had to head out of the office to a meeting.  The task was completed but then the IT let me down.  I had to get a colleague to assist me and it took us ages to submit the piece of work.  Disaster, I had missed my train, however I got a later one and managed to get to my meeting only half an hour later than I should have done.

The second disaster of my day happened when I tried to collect my train tickets at the station.  My booking confirmation omitted the necessary code with which I could retrieve the tickets.  Amazingly I managed to travel on three trains without tickets, blagging my way every time (though I did wave my booking confirmation about and it was examined very closely by at least four different members of ScotRail staff).  Eventually a colleague back in the office, got the code for me, and I was able to collect my tickets just in time for my fourth and final train journey back to Edinburgh.  What a nightmare, thankfully all the station and train staff I spoke to were very understanding and just told me that someone else would be able to help me.

I was back in the office for a couple of hours before heading home to hear about BB’s school trip to the Scottish Parliament.  He seems to have had an interesting visit, taking part in a number of activities as well as getting to listen to a Ministerial statement in the chamber.  He was however very disappointed that none of the MSPs that they had hoped to meet turned up to meet and be questioned by his class.  I also found this very disappointing.  I know they are busy, but these are the voters of the future.

I eventually finished the book I have been reading (struggling with) for ages.  At last I can start a new book.

This heron surveys the River Clyde from its nest at Clydesmill, Cambuslang.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.