Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Zipp-y-dee-doo-da!

I'm trying to practice some of the things I'm learning in my PSE workshop. I hope you like what I did with the blip.  I'm slightly more advanced than most members of the class so I ask more advanced questions.  That seems to confuse a lot of people but stretches what we're learning.  The instructor is awesome.

Today I played around with levels and selections.  It was fun but tedious.
The two photos I've posted are at an angle below the feeder because I was standing in the middle of the yard and I'm kind of short.  I'm a bit more level with it when I use a tripod.  The light was perfect to capture his colors.  I'm getting better with positioning myself to maximize that, too, but I'm often stuck with lousy backgrounds as a result.

The extra shows him in a different pose so you can see how his gorget (Red Baron looking scarf) flies off his throat.  Costa's are the only hummingbirds with that particular feature.

You may have noticed that I rarely get Zippy hovering "in space."  There's a particular reason for that, too.  Costa's "zip" or soar back and forth to their destinations.  (Other species of hummingbirds flutter.)  That's how he got his name.  The first time I saw him I thought to myself, "That bird is really zipping!"

Oh, the movie "Lion" was tremendous.  Dev Patel is not only really good looking but an amazing actor. The little kid (about 5 years old) is adorable and extremely talented.  Nicole Kidman is nominated for an Oscar.  I highly recommend it.  Friday, we're going to see "Hidden."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.