Yet It Was Not Consumed

A quiet morning.  BB had football training followed by his first game for his new team.  He played well and enjoyed it.  Apparently the new coach had been chatting to TT about BB, and was pleased with his performance which was good.  TT had shared this with BB on the way home, and BB  said, “that it was always good to impress the coaches on your first game!”  Smart lad!  I was going to run, but it was very windy, and I struggled running into the wind on Thursday night, so after ensuring that my washing was well pegged, I went for a walk to make the most of the morning sunshine (and the wind).

I spotted these fabulous photographs today– so many great pictures, I couldn’t choose a favourite.

After lunch we headed for what we thought would be a windy walk in North Berwick, but thankfully the wind dropped.  TT treated himself to a new shirt, me to a new baking bowl, and BB to a packet of Pokémon cards.  He looked in the whisky shop, but was restrained. We came home via the supermarket.  TT then started to cook tea, BB did his cello and I had a gin and tonic. At least TT is in a good mood, as his team won today!

This sculpture is on an old church in North Berwick - the old Blackadder church I think – which is now a Baptist Church.  Until now I thought it was a tree, and perhaps something to do with the tree of life.  I have now discovered that it is a burning bush, and the emblem of the Church of Scotland.  As I was brought up in the Church of Scotland and was sent to Sunday school for years, it is quite surprising that I did not know this till now.  But as I remember I used to tell my mother that Sunday school was a complete waste of time (as I never wanted to go), as although it was called a “school” - you learned nothing. She continued to send me until I was twelve.  What a waste of a Sunday morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.