Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

The Mayor's teddy

This morning I went into town.  I hadn't intended to blip anything (the weather was horrid) though of course I had my camera.  But right by the bus stop WI ladies were sweeping people into the Mayor's official residence.  It was her Open House Day.

Well, how could I resist?  And in the first room I went into, there was a teddy sitting at the head of a long table, wearing mayoral robes.  So I asked Madam Mayor about him (what blipper wouldn't have?) and took a picture of them both together (see Extras).

Yes, the Mayor of Winchester has a teddy.  It belongs to whoever is in office, if I've got the story right, but it was this mayor who made him his clothes.

His name is Louis XIV.  I don't know if this indicates that 13 previous teddies were torn or worn to pieces.  He sits in the empty chair at this table if anyone fails to turn up for meetings/dinner.  He also officiates at the Teddy Bears' Picnic once a year.  For the latter he goes by the nom de guerre Ginger. 

That's all I can tell you really, except that I gather that despite not being a 'Lord Mayor' (just a Mayor), she is the second most important one next to the Mayor of London.  This is because Queen Victoria decreed it in a momentary muddle between Albert and Alfred the Cake

So that's me today.  Hope you're enjoying your evening  xx

PS:  My hearts problem is getting weirder.  Because I couldn't wait up long enough to give them last night (too tired after choir) I had to give them this morning.  Which means any I give for today will come to you tomorrow morning.  Really it drives me potty, I'd so much rather have 5 per 24 hours rather than five 24 hours after I've used the last lot.  I'm just not that organised.  Perhaps I will suggest it - what do you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.