Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The V & A Museum

It has been a busy day - I left home at 8.30am to get a train to London, as I had another arts society event this morning - this time it was a private tour of the V&A museum, followed by a visit to the brilliant exhibition You Say You Want A Revolution which covered those five radical years at the end of the 1960's when so much changed - so much so it was considered a revolution in music, fashion, politics, consumerism, and youth identity. The V&A is a wonderful museum and after the exhibition I spent time visiting the jewellery hall and the fashion hall.

Then I met my school parents' camera group at Trafalgar Square for an exercise in street photography. Not my genre at all, I felt very uncomfortable doing this and very out of control shooting from the hip with hit and miss focusing. I have added an extra of the only shot I liked from this exercise, where the colours all match so well as if it was styled by a fashion coordinator! It turned extremely cold and the light was fading fast, and shooting from the hip with numb fingers at extremely high ISO's began to lose its appeal. I decided to head off to meet Gavin as we had a dinner tonight.

Gavin had kindly brought my change of clothes in when he came in to a meeting so I met him at the club where I changed. We had a lovely dinner with all traditions befitting the venue of a centuries old livery hall. It was a long day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.