On the Boil(er)

I still have this cold, hence another shot of Minstrel! I am also trying to get a decent shot of him for the Facebook POTW group - still don't think I've cracked it! He does like sitting on the boiler. He could hear the sound of the rather wet snow splatting on the flat roof just above his head - he didn't know what it was of course!

It's trying to snow again as I type. It isn't settling, in fact it has more or less melted before it lands.

Last night when I got to work, my voice had started to go. By the end of the night it had gone completely. I don't know what customers thought, being served by someone who was obviously diseased!

I still don't have my voice back today - it's getting on my and everyone else's nerves. Even Minstrel doesn't seem to like being whispered at.

I phoned my Dad, and he was less than impressed that I wasn't going over. But if he caught this he would no doubt end up in hospital, so it's best if I stay away. He knows that too. He could barely hear me on the phone until he'd got his hearing aid in.

Their visit from "The man from the Ministry" as my Dad called him was nowhere near as bad as he expected, and they may well end up better off because of him. I think the fact that he turned up very casually dressed rather than booted and suited helped - it put my Dad at ease that he looked normal rather than official!

I'm not too bad if I don't talk too much. Having to force my voice out at an audible level is quite exhausting! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.