Female Scaup

I haven't seen this duck on Scudder Pond before. I've seen lots of them up in British Columbia at the Reifel Migratory Bird Reserve. But none here until today. She surprised me. I thought she was one of the little female Buffleheads that is frequently on that pond diving. Fun to see a new duck.

I spent the day on my own. Friends dropped by to pick up their mail but I was out on a long walk in the park. We texted and they picked up their packages and headed back home to BC. We will talk soon on the phone. But honestly I was in a mood to be alone. And so I was, all day long. 

I think that I am coming down from the long period of constant vigilance and caring that I've been doing for the past couple of years. I can feel myself relax and let down the tension. I find myself not worrying about messes in the house or chores except the most important ones. I didn't even go to visit Arvin today. I stayed by myself and it felt good. I spent almost three hours in the park, meandering around, taking some photos but mostly just walking quietly and musing. I don't remember any clear thoughts. Just a quiet buzz of wandering and relaxing on the sunny day. I think I've been needing some days like this for a very long time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.