Female Varied Thrush

Finally! I've been hearing her for days. Finally I saw her in the tree next to the neighbor's house. She is such a beautiful bird.

My friend Carroll came by this morning and picked me up. We went to Over Easy for breakfast. They were mobbed so it took awhile. We both had avocado eggs Benedict. Instead of bread they use a whole avocado. With eggs and salsa and Hollandaise sauce. Yum!

After breakfast we went over to visit Arvin at Silverado. He was finishing his lunch so I gave Carroll the grand tour. Then we went back to see Arvin and we three took a walk in the courtyard. It is going to be so nice when the weather is warmer. It was sunny today but a bit chilly. They were celebrating a resident's birthday so Arvin had some cake. Carroll and I passed because we were still full from breakfast.

Carroll took me home and I spent the rest of the day doing just what I felt like. I finished my book from the trip and now I'm doing my blip. It won't take me long to get used to having so much time to do what I feel like doing. It is so very relaxing to be on my own. 

I do of course plan to visit Arvin often as he really perks up when I come into the room. And I love seeing him too. He is still feeling lost unfortunately. I spoke to one of the gals there and she said he is easily redirected to social activities and seems more happy than he appears when he sees me. I completely understand that. When I come it reminds him that he isn't home with me as he was before. I do think he will adjust.

His glasses are still fine but not so much his hearing aids. One is missing and the other turned up in the trap in the washing machine. It is toast. I don't plan to buy more because Arvin keeps taking them off. He can still hear quite a lot. The glasses are another story. Those he really needs and luckily he is keeping them on now that we have the keeper that goes behind his head. That is a relief.

Time to head upstairs and clean up some of the dishes I've left in the sink. I really don't want to turn into a complete slob. Though I do admit to loving taking it easy right now. I know I'll get motivated to do some of what needs doing around here but for now, relaxing and recovering from stress feels pretty darn good to me. 

Oh, and my eye is getting better and better. Now I can see fairly clearly out of the top half so I have some depth perception when I'm looking straight ahead. Not so much when I'm looking down, so still no driving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.