Waiting

Today was cold and dark but we were cheered by a brief visit with friends from Chicago. They are English/American and were in the UK taking care of some personal business and visiting family. We got to go to spend a few hours with them and we enjoyed a Sunday lunch at a nearby dog-friendly pub. Dolly always enjoys a visit to the pub!

After they left I quickly checked my work schedule and found out that a trip-trade I'd requested a couple of weeks ago finally went through and my new trip was Monday instead of Tuesday, so I quickly made sure my suitcase and uniform were in order for tomorrow.

We enjoyed another movie night - 'My Old Lady' with another terrific performance from Maggie Smith. Excellent and funny story set in Paris.

Dolly used to always snuggle up with me when I'm relaxing in front of the TV or with my nose in a book. But lately she's become very restless as she is eager for the lodger to walk in the door. He's only here Monday to Friday but she still stares at the door every weekend evening, hoping that any minute he'll arrive.

"Dolly! It's SUNDAY. He's not coming tonight! Sorry!"

But she still waits. Eyes glued to the door. What happened to my sleepy, cosy, couch potato poodle? I think this is mostly cupboard love as he's happy to give her a few morsels of his dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.