WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Out for a walk

Our last outing with the walking group, to the Lecrín valley. The weather was much better than our last visit there. Unfortunately the pace of this group is not blip friendly -- you can see how far behind I got stopping for just a few seconds to take a quick snap, and rests don't seem to be on their agenda, at least until the front runners realise that the laggards are a mile behind. Luckily I finally found my place in the gruppetto, which adopted a sensible pace that I could keep up with and still have enough breath to talk.

The leader of the walk had lagged even further behind with a couple even slower than we were. Result, the leaderless part of the group, once reunited, missed a turning and took a long way round, finishing up on the road and wondering where the missing three were. But we still got to the bar before P and his two lost sheep. The customary beer and copious free tapas were as usual much appreciated. I have enjoyed going out with this group even if some walks have been a bit longer than I was comfortable with. I've certainly been doing a lot more walking than I do at home!

In other news, we've had reports from home of major flooding, with our house-sitters confined to the house for three days and the road to Fabrezan impassable. There's no major damage though, and if the bedroom ceiling is leaking again they haven't told us about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.