The Pennines

A long day of driving. That is pretty much it. We had planned to visit a friend in Leeds on our way home, but after news of an accident on the M62, and big hold ups, we decided to go home a different way.

Well, that was easier said than done. After spending half an hour driving in a giant circle, we managed to get out of Manchester. I am in no hurry to drive around that city again! We drove over the Pennines via Glossop. There we stopped for a late breakfast of tea and toast, before gathering our thoughts and getting back on the road.

The road we took was much nicer, and less busy than the road we went on. We stopped at the peak for this photo of some snow tickled moors. To prove I really did this drive! I couldn't have done it without my map readers though, so all credit to Mollie for getting us out of Manchester, through Sheffield and spotting services at Sleaford.

The last two hours of the drive were accompanied by a squealing, gravelly grating noise coming from my wheel. I don't have breakdown cover, so we rang Jon, just to let him know where we were, in case something went wrong, as he'd have to rescue me. The noise didn't go away, but thankfully we got home at 4pm.

I've felt pretty tired since I got in. It was nice to receive a belated valentines card from Jon. A lovely handmade card, as was mine to him!

The rest of the evening has been spent watching tv. The pottery throw down, and death in paradise.

Its been a lovely few days away with Mollie and Henry; quite an adventure. But I'm glad to be home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.