Gambolling

I've had a wonderful day at Blue House Farm Essex Wildlife Trust Nature Reserve by the River Crouch at North Fambridge. I saw online that they were holding a Brent Goose day to celebrate an Essex icon, the Dark-bellied Brent Goose. A quarter of the world's population spends the winter in Essex and it won't be long before they head off to their breeding grounds in the Arctic. The weather was absolutely perfect. I got lots of goosey pics. (extra) I love to hear these birds chuntering away to one another.

I captured images of many other birds too, including a curlew and a marsh harrier in flight. As I was leaving the reserve after sunset I met the above four lambs. They were having such fun gambolling together. :)

Today's poem is Letter To Anna, Pregnant by Kit Wright  http://adam-poemsilike.blogspot.co.uk/2007/02/letter-to-anna-pregnant.html

Haven't had time to consider it properly but I like this verse, I think he's captured hawthorn in winter weather perfectly.

The hawthorn crouches
In the black wind’’s clutches
And snags and scratches
The last of light
That is dying over
The winter river
That sails forever
On out of sight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.