No work today :)

Day off - no phone, no laptop!
We had a slow start in the morning and then went out to walk to the "Türken Markt" am Maybach Ufer. On the way we popped into the wee coffee roasters at Gneisenau Strasse and I got a bag of their lovely decaf beans.
I like the Turkish market and I get here my supply of (addictive) Vietnamese cinnamon. It is sold by a speciality spice dealer and importer. It changed completely my view of cinnamon. I was never keen on cinnamon but this one is so different. It is hellish expensive but so worth it!
I have it with my porridge and my berry frittatas .... and put it in the occasional stews.
I also bought some Turkey eggs! Never had them before. They are supposed to have always 2 yolks.
When we were at the market it was getting quite icy, with cold wind and a bit of snow. Since Neil was wearing his kilt as almost always when we are in Berlin, I suggested to visit Kaffee Pur, one of the Speciality Roasters, for a coffee and a bit of warming up (and of course browsing their freshly roasted coffees :)).
When we got out again the sun had appeared and the world was so much nicer.
We walked to Kottbusser Tor and explored this part of Kreuzberg 36 a bit further.
It is a bit rougher than our corner and much more in Turkish hand.
We found another Coffee Roaster in a back yard (The Visit). A hugely modern shop! Very impressive and very expensive! I could not resist and tried one of their coffees and bought another bag of coffee there :)
That was bag number 3 today ....
On way home we wandered through the Graefe Kiez, then popped into the our local Market hall for some eggs and food.
We were home at about 6 pm and ended up having a little snooze to recover from out day walking.
That was then the end of the day as we only woke up after 10 pm, had some food and went back to bed.

The photo is one of the many "Photo Automaten" with traditional film and wet processing. 4 pictures for 2 Euros, great fun and at least five minutes waiting in excitement until the strip comes out ;)
I love them and we started to get some daft selfies every time we are in Berlin. As we did today .... see extra :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.