Arvin's Room at Silverado

Today was a busy one. Arvin had a morning doctor appointment and we both had an afternoon dentist appointment. I picked Arvin up at 10 and we went to see his doctor. He is such a kind man and an excellent doctor. He also happens to be the medical director of Silverado and another memory care place. Arvin expressed his dislike of living away from home and Dr. M was so kind and gentle when he told him that he considered Silverado an excellent place for Arvin to receive care. And he worked out a way for Arvin to continue taking one of his medications that can help him be less depressed. The version he was taking was time release and could not be crushed and added to food like the rest of his meds. Arvin was not able to take it in pill form, or chose not to. So he was spitting it out and not getting the help from it. Now with a new three times a day version he should start feeling less depressed soon. The nursing staff at Silverado gave me a bunch of papers to give the doctor so he could make the change and they could implement it. We are a team taking care of Arvin.

Arv and I went back to Silverado and had a quiet snuggly nap together before lunch. After lunch we headed to our family dentist. (I should mention that we have been going to both the doctor and the dentist for over 20 years.) We both had appointments and sat in areas next to each other while the hygienist worked on Arvin's teeth and the dental assistant worked on mine. Then the dentist did some work for me and finally for Arvin. We both had small cavities. They filled Arvin's today so he wouldn't have to have another trip to get the work done. I made an appointment for mine so Arvin wouldn't have to wait for me. He was getting tired by then. So back he went to Silverado. He really wanted to come home with me and that was hard. But I told him I would be back tomorrow which I will.

On the way home I shopped and sent a package to my friends in Holland. It is their Christmas present. I'm sending it now because they are on the end of a five month bicycling trip to New Zealand right now and won't be home for a couple more weeks.

Busy day indeed. I listened to the President's speech when I got home. Truthfully I didn't hear anything that made me feel comfortable or confident that he will make any positive changes. At least he didn't rant and rave though. Let's see how long it takes before he does another tweet. Truth is he is NOT my president.

One more thing... the paintings above Arvin's head are some I did a few years ago of his two daughters. They are designed to be hung together or separately. Every time we go into the room Arvin says, "There are my two daughters." I am so delighted that the paintings are helping him remember them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.