The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Mediterranean doors

I wasn't going to blip today. It's felt like a wasted day. I got up as usual, ready to go to work, but my body had other ideas and eventually I realised there was no point in going in if I felt so rotten with a cold, sneezing, high blood pressure, leaking eyes, and so on. So I stayed in bed and slept a bit, though had to get up to have an eye test in town in the afternoon. It takes so long to get an appointment that I did not want to reschedule.

At the opticians, I had the strange experience of seeing the inside of my own eye while it was being examined with the camera. While being told to look down, I could somehow see the reflection of my own eye's rich blood supply. I can only describe it as looking some what like the patterns created in mud flats in sub-Saharan Africa, but so awe inspiring!

I am pleased to say that not only are my eyes healthy, but I also have the same prescription as in 2014! No new glasses needed. I should explain that, before my eyes were lasered in 2008, I had severe myopia and astigmatism. It was about -10 and -12. I couldn't even get up in the night for a wee without reaching for my glasses. As a young teenager, I actually believed I was going to lose my sight, possibly because of an ill advised remark made by an adult! My eyesight stopped deteriorating when I reached the age of 16, but even today, nine years after my surgery, I never take my vision for granted. My distance vision is 20/20, apparently. Woo hoo!

Back home, I stayed up, and CleanSteve and I took.turns to advance and finally finish this incredibly challenging puzzle! Steve's done most of it. We've enjoyed every moment of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.