Rainy Day Reflections at Spring Creek Park

I awoke to the sound of thunder, which was followed by heavy rains as I got ready to go to work. The timing was pretty good, though. By the time I actually got in the car and left home, the rain had slowed down a bit. It was very misty out in the country where we live, but not so much in town.

I stopped for fifteen minutes at Spring Creek Park and found standing water everywhere. It made for some fun reflections. If you ever see a girl kneeling under an umbrella in the rain, way down low, with her camera almost on the ground, taking pictures into a puddle, that would be me! *hearty laughter*

I am very fond of this park and its lovely benches and covered bridge. (Conveniently, it's about a five-minutes' drive from my workplace.) I think this is the first I've shown you this particular bench, though I've multi-blipped one or two of them before:

The Gift of Good Light
Winter Comes to Spring Creek Park
And a Bench for Daydreaming
A Bench By a Stream

This particular bench, on this particular day, looked like it was about ready to float out to sea! And let's not forget the covered bridge, which you can just barely see in the distance in this shot, just a bit left of center. Here are two additional, better shots of the bridge:

Spring Creek: Reflections of a Covered Bridge
Spring Creek Park's Covered Bridge

The most unusual thing I've ever seen at this park was a little mermaid, just that one time. And my oldest sister was there with me, and I have pictures to prove that we saw the mermaid. (Yes, I had her mother's permission.) So there! Clearly it is a place full of magic. Yes, pure magic . . . even in the rain.

The soundtrack tune is one I've chosen in honor of the thunder that awakened me on this day. You can guess who it's going to be, I'll betcha. :-)  The song is a beloved rock tune, and I can die happy because I've heard it (and Born to Run, and Dancing in the Dark, and The River, and Youngstown, and Land of Hope and Dreams) several times live in concert. Here are two versions of Thunder Road that will rock your socks off. This one features Bruce Springsteen and Melissa Etheridge. And this one is live at the Hammersmith Odeon in 1975. Rock on! Now, let's sing those first few lines together again, shall we, my dears?

The screen door slams, Mary's dress waves.
Like a vision she dances across the porch as the radio plays . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.